Horyniec-Zdroj is a spa village and an administrative district of Lubaczow County in the Subcarpathian Province which is found in south-eastern Poland. The town nestles at the foot of the wooded and picturesque hills of the Southern Roztocze and is very close to the Ukrainian border. The abundant forests predominantly made up of pine trees, release their essential oils into the environment and have a moderating effect on the local climate which is mildly stimulating. Horyniec-Zdroj has become known for its unique microclimate which is characterised by long periods of calm weather, large amounts of sunlight and many cloudless days.
The name of the town comes from the Russian word for „hora”, or mountain. The mountains, in this case, were presumably the hills of the Rawski Roztocze which start here. The earliest mention of Horyniec appeared in 1444 when Wladyslaw, a Duke of Mazovia and Belz granted the land to the Nobleman Piotr Pieczykur. Later Horyniec belonged successively to different Polish noble families one of whom, in the 17th century, built a brick manor house and a wooden church. The settlement also belonged for a time in the 17th century to the Sobieski family and King Jan III frequently spent time here at his hunting lodge. It was here also that he defeated the Tatars in 1672.

It was in the 19th century, thanks to the Poninski family, that Horyniec became a famous spa resort and cultural centre with the construction of a theatre and a library, which was under the guardianship of the Franciscan Order. Horyniec suffered great losses during World War I due to fighting between Poles and Ukrainians but by 1939 its population had risen to more than 2000, made up of Poles, Ukrainians and Jews. During the early years of World War II, Horyniec was part of the USSR and as a result many defences were put up near the town which collectively become known as the Molotov Line. Several have survived to this day and have become points of interest in the area.

The curative properties of the local sulphide springs have been known for a long time as the region was often visited by Queen Maria Sobieska with her husband, King Jan III, but it was not till the late 19th century that the first primitive bathing facilities were erected. The water used came from two separate sources, one for bathing and the other for drinking. Facilities at the resort grew till, by the 1930’s, a new bathing complex was built at the manor house estate, a spa park was created around the healing springs and there was sufficient accommodation for more than 500 patients. Most of the bathing amenities were destroyed during World War II but work began in 1957 to rebuild this curative resort. By 1973 Horyniec was granted spa status.

Horyniec-Zdroj has the characteristic of a lowland spa. The stability of its climate is advantageous especially for patients with cardiovascular diseases. The natural low-mineralised waters are the basis of the majority of treatments at this resort but some of the richest deposits of mud in Poland are also found here. Treatments include those for rheumatoid immobility, degenerative diseases of the spine and joints, conditions resulting from orthopaedic surgery and neurosurgery, impaired functional mobility, skin ailments, gastrointestinal diseases, metabolic disorders and heavy metal poisoning.

A specific feature of the spa in Horyniec-Zdroj is its function as a professional rehabilitation and recreational centre. The modern indoor pool facility houses a sports pool, a rehabilitation pool, a whirlpool bath, a waterslide tube complex, a salt cave, a Finnish sauna, a Scottish shower, exercise equipment, carbonic-acid baths and a cafeteria. Horyniec-Zdroj is the ideal destination for those looking for relaxation whilst in contact with nature and the effective regeneration of their body that is constantly subjected to everyday pressures. The tourist hiking trails take visitors around the local sights, enable lungs to be filled with pristine air and calm the nervous system.