Warsaw 21.1 ºC

Warsaw Citadel, Fort “Legionow”


General

Availability:
- Open all year round
Opening hours:
Comments on. Available - Termin i godz. wejścia do obiektu po uzgodnieniu telefonicznym +48 602 494 806

Facilities

Photographing allowed-imgFilming allowed-img

Fort Wladimir (Legionow) was built in the years between 1850 and 1854. It is one, of the outer ring of six forts that makes up the Warsaw Citadel. From the side of the New Town it defended the crossing the River Vistula. Three underground complexes have been made available to explore.

 


FEATURES, ORIGINS, VALUES AND LEGAL PROTECTION
Fort Wladimir (Fort Legionow is the name used after 1918) was built between 1852 and 1854 on the southern foreland of the Warsaw Citadel. Initially, the fort had the shape of a three-storey artillery turret, surrounded by a fortified ditch with three cofferdams and a gallery in the counterscarp. Its task was to guard the citadel from the side of the New Town and also to defend the seasonal bridge over the Vistula River. In the years between 1866 and 1874 the fort was modernized. A battery emplacement in the shape of the letter “L” was built between the bastion and the River Vistula, equipped with two emergency brick shelters and also a brick battery which was meant to control the Vistula River bed. The fort survived during the Warsaw Uprising despite the ongoing fierce fighting over the Polish Security Printing Works and after 1945 it was used by the military. Since 1999, the fort has been privately owned by a well-known family of Warsaw restaurateurs, Agnieszka and Marcin Kreglicki. Three buildings have survived in Warsaw arranged around the Citadel. Fort Legionow is the only structure in the Warsaw Citadel of a “mountainous” nature, with a complex underground system. Currently, individual elements of the fort are subject to renovation which will restore them to their original appearance. The underground tour includes a visit to the underground halls on levels “0” and “-1”, the rooms in gallery in the counterscarp with mine-laying passageways and a historical exhibit and levels “-2” and “-3” with an underground armoury. In 1965, the fort was listed as a monument.

TOUR ORGANISER
Fort Legionow
Warsaw, Ul Zakroczymska 12
Tel: +48 602 494 806
e-mail: forteca04@interia.pl
www.republika.pl/fl2004

ACCESSIBILITY OF FACILITIES BY VISITORS
Viewing only by organized groups, entry to the underground complex in groups up to 20 people
The underground complex can be visited throughout the year except during:
- Closed open-air events
- During adaptive conservation works
- Outside the date and time of a tour arranged by telephone in advance
Length of the route is around 500m and on 3 levels.
Sightseeing route and time to be agreed, from 30 minutes to 1 hour
The route is electrically illuminated.
The temperature inside is about 7° C and humidity is 75%.
We recommend comfortable, athletic shoes and warm clothing in the summer.
The facility is not suitable for people with physical disabilities.
Guided tours only

 

localization-imgLocation Map


Zakroczymska street 12
00-225 Warszawa
State: MAZOWIECKIE
Latitude and Longitude: 52.2571327,21.0066722
Subscribe to our newsletter