Warsaw 22.2 ºC
Contact us

Osowiec Fortress


General

Availability:
- Open all year round
Opening hours:
Comments on. Available - zwiedzanie po uzgodnieni telefonicznym
Prices:
- 3-5PLN
Comments
- Dodatkowo koszt przewodnika: 50,00-60,00 PLN

Facilities

Photographing allowedFilming allowed

This fortress was built by the Russians in the years between 1882 and 1915 in the narrowing of the Biebrza Valley. It is made up of four forts. Only parts of the underground passages of the first fort have been made available to the public.

 


FEATURES, ORIGINS, VALUES AND LEGAL PROTECTION
Osowiec Fortress is a Russian fortress from the second half of the 19th century, located in the swamps in the narrowing of the Biebrza Valley. It was built to protect the western borders of the Tsarist Empire, the so called barrier fortress, was composed of 4 separate fortresses. The core of the fortress was the Fort “Centralny” the remaining forts, “Zarzeczny”, “Szwedzki” and “Nowy” were designed to block any access to the citadel. Modernized at the beginning of the 20th century, the fort became famous for its defensive endeavours, especially those on the right bank of the river. Upon completion of its modernization the Osowiec Fortress was a prototype for the modern fortified area and an example of an effective combination of permanent and field fortifications. During World War I, every attempt to storm the Germans ended in failure. In view of the general situation at the front, the Russian command ordered the troops to withdraw to a new defensive position. The resident forces, after more than six months of fighting, left the forts but not before blowing up part of the buildings prior to their evacuation, Fort “Zarzeczny almost entirely. In 1919, the fortress was taken over by the Polish Army, who used it as the seat of the Central School for Non-Commissioned Officers of Border Protection Corps. In between the wars, some of the buildings of the Osowiec Fortress were modernized and a number of new reinforced concrete shelters were built. The fortress played no part in the September Campaign. It was repossessed again by the Polish Army in 1953. Fort “Centralny” and Fort “Szwedzki” are in the best condition. In 1998, Fortress Osowiec was entered onto the register of monuments and at the same time, the Osowiec Fortification Society opened the Osowiec Fortress Museum and prepared the historical and nature route for visitors which include a tour of the overground facilities of the fortress and also its mysterious undergrounds.

TOUR ORGANISER
Osowiec Fortification Society
19-110 Goniadz
House number 31, unit 16
Osowiec Fortress
Tel: +48 600 941 954
http://twierdza.goniadz.org.pl/

ACCESSIBILITY OF FACILITIES BY VISITORS
Opening times of the Fortress and Museum, every day of the week, between the hours of 10.00 and 15.30.
Telephone advance booking is recommended.
In the summer season (July - August) and during the so-called “Long weekends”, there should always be a group waiting in front of the gate with a guide. If there is no one there, it means that everyone is on a tour and will return shortly.
Guided tours only
Time of sightseeing tours can be arranged in advance.
The minimum duration of the visit is about 2 hours.
We recommend comfortable, athletic shoes and warm clothing in the summer.

 

localization-imgLocation Map


Osowiec-Twierdza 19
19-110 Goniądz
State: PODLASKIE
Latitude and Longitude: 53.4897551,22.735111
Subscribe to our newsletter

Our address

Mailing address only (no walk-ins please)
Polish National Tourist Office
221 River St. 9th floor
Hoboken, NJ 07030
Phone: 1 (551) 344-3057
e-mail: info.na@poland.travel