Łysiec Mountain, commonly referred to as “Święty Krzyż” (Holy Cross) mountain was especially liked by witches ages ago. The folk legend has it that during their Sabbaths witches practiced witchcraft and organized hellish parties and dances. However, it is the remains of a stone heathen ring surrounding the top of the mountain and dating back to around 9th century.

Nowadays “Święty Krzyż” is famous in Poland and abroad for the Benedictine monastery and its Relics of the Holy Cross Tree. The monastery, now hosted by the Missionary Oblates, can boast of its 1000 years’ history. Visitors and pilgrims can see a Classicist church dating back to the 18th century and the chapel of the Oleśnicki Family containing Holy Cross Relics and a sepulchral crypt in its vaults. It is worth visiting the Mission Museum of the Missionary Oblates of the Virgin Mary as well as seeing the exhibition of the Świętokrzyski National Park. Tired visitors may try the monastery cuisine and drop in an old pharmacy, now a café, not only to have a cup of coffee or tea, but also buy traditional herbal medicines.

Subscribe to our newsletter