The Trail of Pomeranian Fortifications
In 2005 the fortifications were awarded with the prestigious certificate of the Polish Tourism Organization, as a tourism product called "Swinoujscie – a fortress on the islands" also the first stage of a walking trail was marked and put into use. It runs along the most interesting remnants of military architecture on the eastern side of the Swina River estuary. The trail, approximately 4 km in length, due to its historical and educational character was designated as a didactic (teaching) trail. The trail starts at the oldest and most interesting protective structure on the left river bank, the Eastern Stronghold, which is also known as "Gerhard's Fortress". Many surprises await tourists there, such as the tournament to win the Commander's sabre, night manoeuvres and treasure hunting. On several occasions during the year thrill seekers are allowed to visit the stronghold at night. There are two more strongholds on the other river bank. The Western Stronghold has a few cannons, sea mines and torpedoes on display. Occasionally, flea markets and military fairs are organized during the high season. Painting, sculpture and photography exhibitions are held At the Angel's Stronghold as well as music performances and poetry slams. There is also a shooting range at the stronghold where visitors can try to shoot with a bow, a rifle or an air gun and even throw an axe or a spear. At the end of April a countrywide historical re-enactment takes place here, called the Beltan Fire Feast.
In the Walcz Lakeland, the remnants of the so-called Pomeranian Wall are a great tourist attraction, especially for martial arts lovers. During Hitler's preparations for war in 1934 construction efforts were intensified to build fortifications stretching from the Baltic Sea near Darlowo to the so-called Miedzyrzecz Fortified Region. They made use of natural obstacles such as lakes, swamps, hills and forests with bunkers and shelters built of steel and concrete between them. In the area of Nadarzyce, Walcz and Strzaliny special shelters were constructed with 210cm thick walls and 190cm thick ceilings, each capable of being manned by about 80 soldiers. They were each equipped with one rapid-firing gun of medium calibre, one antitank gun, 2 heavy machine guns and a grenade launcher. The shelters were separated by a distance between 400-600 metres from one another and their firing range covered the whole battlefield. The area around the shelters was mined and covered with barbed wire. The brutal and bloody battle to break through the Pomeranian Wall began in early February 1945 and it ended on 10th February, when Miroslawiec was captured. The whole battle had been fought by the Polish First Army. The Pomeranian Wall was ultimately broken on 5th February, 1945, on the northern shore of Lake Dobra. Today the only testimony to these days are the remnants of the destroyed bunkers and shelters in the forests of Walcz Lake District, as well as the museum exhibitions, even as extraordinary as the one in Zdebice, where an exhibition is held titled "The forest that witnessed the battle of the Pomeranian Wall". To commemorate these past events, every year in the first ten days of June, a tour is organized along the Trail of Pomeranian Wall Fortifications (hiking and cycling) with approximately 500 to 700 participants.