Warszawa 22.8 ºC

About Poland


The Republic of Poland is located in Central Europe. It is bordered by Germany to the west, the Czech Republic and Slovakia to the south, Lithuania, Belarus and Ukraine to the east and Russia and the Baltic Sea to the north.

The population of more than 38.5 million occupies an area of about 312,000 square kilometres.

Poland's landscape is much diversified. The Carpathian and the Sudety Mountains stretch along its southern borders. Lowlands and undulating hills occupy the central part of the country. The northern regions of Poland, including the Pomeranian and Masurian lake lands, are gently undulating, relatively well forested and covered in hundreds of lakes and ending with the sandy beaches of the Baltic Sea coast.


Poland's national emblem is a white eagle with a golden crown on a red background. The national flag is white and red.

The people of Poland use the Polish Language. Its capital and also its largest city is Warsaw which has a population in excess of 1,700,000 and stands on the longest Polish river, the Vistula.

The major Polish cities are Warsaw, Krakow, Gdansk, Katowice, Lodz, Poznan, Szczecin, and Wroclaw. Administratively, Poland is divided into provinces (Voivodships) of which there are sixteen (16) which are then further subdivided into counties and municipalities.